Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

What’s it all about: A mansion in Beverly Hills is leased out to host an event wild enough to herald the end of days.The next day there isn’t a living soul to be seen. In the driveway sits a super-stretch limo, unlocked, with four bodies inside it. Nothing links the victims together. Each has been killed in a different way.Now it’s up to brilliant psychologist Alex Delware and LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis to begin their grisliest and most baffling case yet.

My thoughts

This is the 35th in the series but yet still feels quite fresh & a really interesting story that took 2 very strange but entertaining twists. It took a while for this to get going for me. I expected unusual plot of 4 seemingly unrelated dead bodies in a limo to grab me a bit more but after the first 50 pages it seemed to pick up and after that I couldn’t put it down.

I love the friendship between Alex and MIlo. I haven’t read the last few in the series so some of the other detectives are new to me (I’ll rectify that) but I didn’t feel like I needed to go back and read them first, they seem well formed. Looking at Goodreads not everyone liked the twists but I’m a great fan of kitchen sink crime (my definition – throwing everything in but the kitchen sink) so the wackier the better. As long as there’s a reasonable attempt to explain why and all the loose ends are tied up which this does do. Loved the art history lesson within it. It’s a subject I enjoy but I never knew about the darker side. Quite graphic descriptions, not sure I’d actually want to view any but it did make me want to learn a bit more which always gives that extra bit of enjoyment that I can take from a novel.

Overall loved it once it got going and looking forward to catching up on the ones I’ve missed.