, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Read to the end for an exciting giveaway

Synopsis: Nearly two hundred years have passed since Caitlyn was trapped by supernatural forces and black magic, and she has known many mistresses. This time, the witch she is enthralled to is Joan, wife of Llewelyn, Prince of Wales.
At first, this mistress appears no different to any of the others Caitlyn has served – until Llewelyn captures William de Braose, and Joan falls in love, risking everything, including Caitlyn, to fulfil her desire.
Caitlyn, meanwhile, has her own cross to bear in the form of the gallant and reckless Hugh of Pembroke…

My thoughts

Three immediate things with this book, the third and final of the series. I’ve linked the other two reviews at the end but reading the first one I nearly gave up on these half way through book 1. I really didn’t like the twist however the reviews made me reconsider and I ended up enjoying the book. This third one is my favourite of the three so if I had given up at that point I wouldn’t have read this fantastic story. I absolutely loved it. 

Secondly I love genealogy and King John is a 24th great grandfather when I’ve traced my family lines. Lady Joan, the witch in this book is Johns illegitimate eldest daughter making her some kind of many times great aunt to me. I LOVE when I can read about my ancestors in people’s stories however much fact and fiction overlap. So yay for Aunt Joan being such an utter social climbing schemer and ending up here! 

Thirdly I love Blod, Hugh’s druid grandma. I want to be her when I get older. She’s so unafraid of what people think and says and does exactly what she wants. She’s such a delightful character and made the book even more enjoyable. 

This one is more romantic and less supernatural than the others as Caitlyn gets involved with Hugh and renews her quest to be free of the spell. As I say it’s my favourite of the trilogy and all the characters are enjoyable in this one. The historical backstory as ever is fascinating and makes me want to know more of that time period and real life people. I’m a little bit sad that the series is over but there are other books by the author I can’t wait to try now.

Three Bloody Pieces

A Stain on the Soul (Caitlyn, #2)

Pre-Order Link: https://www.books2read.com/AnotherKindOfMagic

Author Bio – Elizabeth Davies is a paranormal author, whose books have a romantic flavour with more than a hint of suspense. And death. There’s usually death…

Social Media Links

Website – http://www.elizabethdaviesauthor.co.uk

Twitter – @bethsbooks

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ElizabethDaviesAuthor/

Instagram – @elizabethdavies.author

Giveaway – Win Tote bag and a signed paperback copy of each of the three books in the Caitlyn series. (Open Internationally)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize