Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.
Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

My review: I’d given myself a target to read 50% of this one day and the rest the next. However I ended up staying well after midnight on a work night to make sure I’d finished it all in one day. It was that compelling

I actually picked this book to read as the synopsis reminded me of the film The Breakfast Club and indeed the author has stated in interview the film was her original inspiration but wanted to take it further.

The style really worked well for me. All the characters are given equal voice telling the story as it unfolds and the murder mystery from the differing viewpoints. But also how they live their lives under the microscopic media and police scrutiny as they work to clear their names of murder. Not to mention the fact of whether they can trust each other. After all there’s a good chance one of them is a murderer.

The diary style chapters make the pace rattle along; you have to keep turning the pages to see if the next voice agrees with the bit you’ve just read of someone else while you try and second guess the minutiae to figure out who is the liar. I’ll not spoil it but it wasn’t who I  didn’t think it was! Yup I typed that right but to explain would spoil the fun.

There are lots of twists and turns, one or two surprises and some bits you could see coming a mile off. Secretly gay sports star? The romance angle? I’ve read too many books for those things to be exciting but it has no negative impact on the book. The story telling is superb.

I absolutely enjoyed it. A fantastic read

Free ARC from netgalley.

Out now

 

