Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: A baby is abandoned in the middle of the night at Royal Surrey County Hospital. D.I. Bobby ‘Marilyn’ Simmons suspects the father is planning to take his own life following the violent suicide of his eldest son a year earlier. The race is on to find him. Captain Ben Callan is investigating a suspicious death. Just sixteen years old, Stephen Foster has been stabbed in the neck with a screwdriver. Someone tried to save his life – but who? And why haven’t they come forward? When psychologist Dr Jessie Flynn is called in to consult on both cases, she sees connections between the deaths of Danny and Stephen. And when she starts counselling a third traumatized young man, Jessie fears he faces the same fate…

My review: It’s not that long ago I read the first book in that series and after a quiet start I ended up loving that so I had high hopes for this one. And it didn’t disappoint. The main character Jessie Flynn was for me the  weakest of all the people in the book but with lots more back story for her I finally started to understand her a bit more and she seemed less bland to me. We had more history of her brothers suicide, her fathers part in it releasing her (hopefully) from some of the guilt she felt and more around her OCD issues.

My favourite character though is still DO ‘Marilyn’ Bobby Simmons the Ronny Wood/ Marilyn Manson a like. So many detective are identikit and you could transport them into any detective series but this one is so richly described and unique you can’t help but love him. So now the challenge is on to do something with Captain Callan who’s in danger of stagnating and being nothing more  than wordy eye candy. Some more on his (recent) past would be interesting.

Avoiding commenting on the actual story a bit as it’s quite harrowing being about several seemingly random teenage boy suicides. As with any detective series nothing is ever truly random and the link and reveal when it happens is so heartbreaking. This is fiction but sadly we live in a world where these e things are real (no spoilers). Lots of difficult topics explored in this novel all with sensitivity. I was intrigued by who thebao the bad guy turned out to be and there should be some fall out from it in Book 3 which I’m looking forward to.

This series is rapidly becoming one of my favourites and I’m looking forward to the next book. I would highly recommend it.

Free ARC from netgalley

