Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: When eighteen-year-old Chloe Emery returns to her West London home she finds her mother missing, the house covered in blood. Everything points to murder, except for one thing: there’s no sign of the body.
London detective Maeve Kerrigan and the homicide team turn their attention to the neighbours. The ultra-religious Norrises are acting suspiciously; their teenage daughter and Chloe Emery definitely have something to hide. Then there’s William Turner, once accused of stabbing a schoolmate and the neighborhood’s favorite criminal. Is he merely a scapegoat, or is there more behind the charismatic facade?
As a body fails to materialize, Maeve must piece together a patchwork of testimonies and accusations. Who is lying, and who is not? And soon Maeve starts to realize that not only will the answer lead to Kate Emery, but more lives may hang in the balance.

My review: I’m not sure I would rate this book as highly as everyone on goodreads. It’s good but not great. The bad guys were suitable bad and there were enough of them that it was hard to decide just which one of them committed the horrible crimes in this book. However I couldn’t really connect with any of the good guys. I’ve complained before about not enough back story in books for anyone coming into the titles late and this one is guilty of that too. I sort of spotted that Maeve was in some kind of life threatening situation in a previous book but it was a throwaway line. I don’t want reams of details but a little something to go on would be nice. Because of that I just found her to be a miserable bugger rather than being able to understand the way she works.

In fact I don’t think there was one happy person in the whole book except Pettifer and he didn’t actually say much.

The story itself moves quite quickly and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the plot moving and the reader interested. I liked how it was hard to choose which bad guy did it and which crime belonged to them as well. I liked the religious angle and would like to know more about Maeve’s Catholicism (I should probably read the other books right?) and whether it was for only this book or if it’s part of any deeper characterisation.

Overall it’s a great story but I don’t think the characters evolved very much to really keep me hooked

