Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: When a body is found in a tree in The Meadows, Edinburgh’s scenic parkland, the forensics suggest the corpse has fallen from a great height.
Detective Inspector Tony McLean wonders whether it was an accident, or a murder designed to send a chilling message?
The dead man had led quite a life: a disgraced ex-cop turned criminal kingpin who reinvented himself as a celebrated philanthropist.
As McLean traces the victim’s journey, it takes him back to Edinburgh’s past, and through its underworld – crossing paths with some of its most dangerous and most vulnerable people.
And waiting at the end of it all, is the truth behind a crime that cuts to the very heart of the city…

Me: This is the 7th in the McLean series but the first one I’ve read but I’ll be going back to read the other six really soon. There are intriguing things I need to know the answers to…how did his house burn down? How did his girlfriend end up in a coma and who is the mysterious Mrs Scaifre???

The last one is quite important as she pops up towards the end of this book and ends up with quite a big part to play.

I liked this…quite a lot. But then a body falling out of the sky is always a good way to get me interested in a story. I enjoyed all the characters, by now quite well rounded and fleshed out with their seventh outing. Everything really gels well. I read it fast but it’s not fast paced. Oswald gets over the constant lack of movement with the case without really slowing down the pace of the book.

The plot is unusual with modern day opium dens, the guy falling out of the sky, some very odd polismen (it’s set in Edinburgh). And despite my opening comments does work well as a stand alone novel. Although I will go back and read the other works I don’t feel I missed out on not reading them before picking this up.

Recommended.

