Tags

, , , , , ,

Synopsis: A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of 6 victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’. Assigned to the shocking case are Det William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Det Emily Baxter. The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names t the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With 6 people to save can they catch a killer when the world is watching their every move? 

Me: Thank heavens for lazy Sundays as it meant I could read this book in one sitting. I would have absolutely hated outting it down to go do some actual work! A real pager turner from the very beginning. 

I fell in love with each character. Each one with their own quirks, issues and personalties. The book is more than the two main characters too; the second string of characters on the police team are given equal time and descriptions so you end up believing in every one.

It’s very fast paced and very richly drawn. The book was originally a screenplay and I wonder if that has any bearing on the way it reads? I could see it as a TV drama so very clearly. I loved the twists and they made sense – hooray. 

I’m terrible at putting real life celebs into the characters; sometimes just based on names and ending up with some odd imaginings. So naming your lead character Wolf I ended up for ages with the bloody Gladiator in my head! Thankfully I ended up turning him into someone else but for a minute there it became a strange book….

Another thing that struck me was how neatly the ending was tied up. In the preface the author did mention how he has had a number of rejections so again you can’t help wondering how much of an impact it had on the ending. It’s all so neat however now I’m intrigued as to how he will get all his police tea back together. And he better as I ended up caring about each and every one. 

I loved this. I read it in a day. I would recommend it to anyone who likes crime and I can’t wait for the next one

