Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: Here’s the truth: Other people’s drama is making you fat.
You’re a good person. You feel for other people’s troubles and challenges. Heck, you’re probably the go-to person for a whole list of people when the going gets tough!
But is your caring nature keeping you out of the best shape of your life?
Break the cycle and be the loving person you are
“Weight Loss for People Who Feel Too Much” focuses on the keys to weight loss for sensitive people. With a simple, practical program, bestselling author and internationally renowned intuitive counsellor Colette Baron-Reid shows you how to release the extra pounds and create a new, healthy relationship with your body, your weight, and food.
This 4-step, 8-week program will show you how to finally let go of what’s weighing you down, physically and emotionally. You will learn how to:
– Reverse empathy overload and establish healthy boundaries
– Avoid the “noisy” trigger foods that lead to autopilot eating
– Deal with challenging situations and avoid your detours, from procrastination to perfectionism, that sabotage the success you deserve

Me : I really enjoyed this book. Having tried various diets and failed I thought a lot of my problems were around the restrictiveness of syn/points counting (and eating chocolate). If I deny myself something then I just want it even more. I also find a lot of diets don’t try and help you work out just why you over eat or fail at heavily marketed diet plans.

I don’t think the book has all the answers and probably won;t suit everyone but I found that for the first time in a long time a health book made sense. It’s actually not about dieting. It’s about over eating and why we do it. It talks about how we let every day negativity and other people’s drama affect us, then we go home (or to the shops) and just eat and eat until the pain goes away. I probably did that for many years while struggling with depression. I noticed my son do it the other day. After a bad session at work he came home and grabbed the xmas sweets. (Then put them back when I pointed out what I was learning from the book!)

It offers a very simple structure for trying to combat this:

  • Be kind – to others and yourself
  • Try some EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique- something I’m qualified in but never use)
  • Visualise a safer place than the one you are in
  • Simplify your life. Cut down (out?) on horrifying news stories and the incessant negative overload that can come from social media
  • Eat cleaner foods – stay off the processed
  • Keep journals. One for the good things that happened in the day and things you are grateful for and one to dump the negativity and stress from the day

And that’s mostly it. It does go into each of those topics in more detail and explain what clean foods are for example. It gives lots of visualisations for those that have never done them before. There’s a section on what herbs are good for health issues and also supplements as well. Plus a wide range of questionnaires to get you thinking about your habits and where you can make some changes.

I made myself a little list of how I want my dietary habits to be. I’m already 8 days into giving up fizzy pop however I know the sugar reduction isn’t going to happen until after Xmas week. It encourages us to go easy on ourselves when we don’t get it right each day. That’s where the gratitude diary comes into it. It’s ok to have a blip.

I enjoyed it. I personally found a lot of things to take on-board and work with over the coming months. It’s an easy read that doesn’t throw lots of science at you like some health books. I like this one – thumbs up

 

