Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: Éire is one of the most powerful empires in the world. The Anglian Dependencies are a dusty backwater filled with resentful colonial subjects, Europe is a disjointed mess, and many look to Éire for stability and peace. In a series of braided stories, Beth Bernobich has created a tale about the brilliant Éireann scientists who have already bent the laws of nature for Man’s benefit. And who now are striving to conquer the nature of time.

Me: This Victorian/Steampunk novel is split into four shorter stories all interwoven and arcing over a 15 year period and contain my two least favourite subjects – maths and science. Yet for once I didn’t feel like these overshadowed the story and I actually managed to enjoy it and not struggle with the concepts. Possibly because it wasn’t the whole of the story; we had romance, political intrigue alongside the time travel and time fractures.

I liked the fact that there were endless possibilities of what could have happened in the past; characters dying yet alive in the next part due to these fractures. I found it easier to follow if I kept to the idea of four separate short stories rather than one overall tale.

The first two containing the science and math and a bit of murder mystery were easier to follow and more enjoyable than the longer second half of the book. I’m not so keen on political drama either (why did I pick this book again???) so that dragged a bit for me.

Overall though a well written book. I liked the main characters (the secondary ones didn’t really have much about them).  It felt longer than it was but that may be me and the subject matters. It’s actually only 304 pages long. Not sure I would seek out any more but still a pleasant read.

I received this ARC copy of The Time Roads from Macmillan-Tor/Forge in exchange for a honest review.

 

