Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn’t always been this overweight; mother of­ two Brid Riordan hasn’t always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn’t always felt that her life was a total waste.
So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke – a former­ love of both Brid and Evelyn – the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret. Darkly comic, touching and at times profoundly sad. Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore – with searing honesty – the complexities and contradictions that make us human.

Me: I don’t normally read celebrity novels. I’ve tried a few but never really enjoyed any enough to make a thing of it but I like Graham Norton and wondered what type of work he could come up with.

Wonderfully detailed is what I got. The sleepy little Irish town of Duneen and all it’s inhabitants are so beautifully described I could picture them instantly and I had such a vivid view of them throughout the book.

There were very few characters I didn’t like. I didn’t take much to 2 of the three sisters – Abigail and Florence but the rest were lovingly written. I adored Mrs Meaney’s story although it broke my heart a little it. I was really hoping she would gain a measure of happiness by the end.

I managed to guess the whodunnit but I never mind when that happens. I was surprised however by the how-dunnit. No spoilers but it seemed to fit in with the pace of the book. Regardless of his weight and build I liked PJ the guard. I’d like to read a bit more of him. Fingers crossed he’ll be solving more crimes in his new home town. Wasn’t so keen on the tacked on epilogue resolving his love triangle. I’d have been happy to have had that left to my imagination and discovered more in a second book

I really couldn’t put this down and finished the book in next to no time. There’s such a lovely style to his writing and I really would like to read more whether a follow on to this or something stand alone.

**ARC courtesy of publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

