Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: This terrifying new standalone thriller reunites Hunter and Garcia in their most explosive case to date. Seven days after being abducted, the body of a twenty-year-old woman is found on a green patch by the Los Angeles International Airport. She has been left with her limbs stretched out and spread apart, placing her in a five-point human star.

The autopsy reveals that she has been tortured and murdered in a most bizarre way. But the surprises don’t end there. The killer likes to play, and he left something behind for the cops to find. Detective Robert Hunter, who leads the LAPD’s Special Section, Ultra Violent Unit, is assigned to the case. But almost immediately a second body turns up.

Surrounded by new challenges as every day passes, Detective Hunter finds himself chasing a monster. A predator whose past hides a terrible secrete, whose desire to hurt people and thirst for murder can never be quenched – for he is DEATH.

Me: This is my 100th book blog review and what a book to pick. I absolutely loved this. In fact my biggest niggle was that I chose to read it mid-week. If I’d chosen the weekend I would’ve happily sat and read through the night.

After reading quite a few young adult and books based in medieval times it was great to get stuck into something juicier and gritty. And boy is it shocking. Not a book for the faint hearted. I would actually be quite scared to be inside Carter’s mind – the murders he describes are vivid, sickening and very, very gruesome. This is the first book I have read of his and the Ultra Violent team of detectives and enjoyed the fact that he pulls no punches.

I enjoyed reading about Detective Robert Hunter too. Again its my first taste of this series so I can’t say what has come before but in I am Death we know Hunter has a dead wife and child (I think) but seems in no rush to replace her or get entangled in torrid one night stands. He has insomnia but he’s not an alcoholic, not a borderline psycho himself, he seems really bloody normal. His partner is equally normal – they solve Ultra Violent crimes then Garcia (the partner) goes home to his wife. It’s such a refreshing change.

I was quite pleased with myself at one point thinking I had guessed the murderer quite early on but then a twist made me question my decision until a further twist showed me I was right all along…except I wasn’t. Yeah I’m not giving away any spoilers. Go read this book 🙂

I loved it, I’m going to go off and read all the rest. Try it and hope you do too.

