Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have made a decision or a resolution if you will since it’s the beginning of the year. I am going to try my hardest not to buy any books this year. I can make allowances for my favourite authors. Anything else on a reading list or book club needs to come from the library.

I’ve been a bit daft this morning and gone around counting all the unread books in my house. I have 120 unread paper fiction books and 42 unread self help/spiritual books. On top of that my kindle is up to 988 books I haven’t even glanced at.

So I’ve set myself the challenge. I really want to read the kindle books at some point as quite a lot are new/indie/small time authors and I’d like to give them some reviews but I feel guilty reading them when there are so many lovely paper books sat on my shelves waiting for me to pick them.

Reading one a week is only going to tackle half the problem so I have some work cut out for me. But I’m up for the challenge. A few are children’s books so hopefully won’t take more than a couple of evenings. And to start with I’ve picked out a few 200-300 page books which should be quick to read. I’ll blog some but not all.

First up is Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines – originally bought when I was going to study childrens lit with the Open University so I have high hopes for it.

