Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: A breakneck race against time…and an implacable enemy.
An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all identifying characteristics dissolved by acid.
A father publicly beheaded in the blistering heat of a Saudi Arabian public square.
A notorious Syrian biotech expert found eyeless in a Damascus junkyard.
Smouldering human remains on a remote mountainside in Afghanistan.
A flawless plot to commit an appalling crime against humanity.
One path links them all, and only one man can make the journey.
Pilgrim

 My review: I absolutely loved this right from the beginning. After reading a few lacklustre crime novels lately I wasn’t expecting much but I found this an enjoyable read from start to finish.

I had a couple of niggles. While I enjoyed the split biographies of the story with Pilgrim telling his own tale and that of the Saracen I did wonder where some of the information came from. I imagine it was all pieced together after the events but he does seem a little bit omnipotent at times.

The characters themselves are well thought out. I enjoyed all the back-stories. I loved the way everything unfolded. I even enjoyed the fact that Hayes tried to instil a little bit of likeability in the Saracen with the love of his disabled son despite the fact that he was trying to destroy America. And as for the secret service shadow-men there was a bit of America (**** yeah) mentality but it didn’t spoil the story for me.

One of my friends found the eyeball scenes disturbing but as a reader of horror for me it wasn’t so bad. However the idea that someone could create a super virus that can wipe out a continent and beyond and do so from their garage frightens me much more. Possibly because it’s a realistic possibility these days.

I understand the need for the hotel murder sub-plot but it didn’t really add much to the story overall. It might have actually worked as a separate murder mystery on its own. But I suppose they needed a reason for Pilgrim being in Turkey and it’s as good as any other.

Overall I found it easy to read. It had short chapters which always makes me happy and I found that once I started I couldn’t stop reading. For me I’d recommend it.

