Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not sure why I’ve never really read comic books. I’ve watched a huge amount of comic book stories on film and TV. I love sci-fi and fantasy and am slightly addicted to most things zombie.

Maybe because it’s because traditionally it’s been seen a ‘boy thing’ which I know is utter rubbish even as I type it. But it is a reason. I saw a clip on TV the other day of George Lucas talking about his new film and how he had made Star Wars for ’12 year old boys’ and this new film included a love story angle ‘for the 12 year old girls’. Nooooooo why would you have such an outdated point of view. Girls can like boy stuff and vice versa. We no longer live in a society where we should be defined by pink and blue. It’s been nearly 2 weeks and the quote still annoys me. My favourite film growing up was Star Wars and I’m definitely not a boy.

And that’s the case for a lot of girls. In Leeds I know there is another book club (aimed at females) to the ones I’m linked to and they do include some comic book reading. It’s always possible I’ve spent too much time with the outdated Lucas view myself and comic book reading among females is bigger than I thought. Maybe keeping away I’ve missed out on a whole bunch of other like-minded individuals. If not, then I know they’re out there and maybe we should form together and start something.

Anyway, getting back on track, our good friends at Ok Comics have had the fantastic idea to start a library. They have a selection of books for you to borrow for a 2 week period. To me, this is one of the best ideas I’ve heard of in ages. If, like me, you want to try some comics and don’t know where to start. Or if you might have an idea of what you may like but are worried about spending money and then not liking it – then now you can try before you buy.

This is what we decided to do. Going down to the shop it is every easy to register. You leave you contact and credit card details (they’re not daft – you may enjoy the books so much you don’t bring them back!) and then take the books away.

We went for Revival by Tim Seeley and Mike Norton and then also America Vampire created by Scott Snyder, Rafael Albuquerque and Stephen King – a book that had been on my to-read list for a long time. We’ll do a review shortly.

So fingers crossed we like them and want to read more. We wanted to challenge ourselves more and try new things and this seemed like a fun way to start. There are a few series’ I want to try at some point in the future but they will probably cost a fortune to catch up on so it will be slow going.

If you are not in Leeds why not check out your local comic book shop and see if they have a library and if not, encourage them to maybe start one. You never know what gems you may discover.

~Kirsty~

http://www.okcomics.co.uk/

Twitter: @OKComics

Our twitter: @Helenandkirsty

