Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

2015 Reading Challenge category: Book that became a movie

Synopsis: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Me: This is my 4th set of YA serials. I’ve done the trilogies of Hunger Games and Divergent and read the first in The Maze Runner series but I have to say the Mortal Instruments set look like they could become my favourite of the lot. Mostly because I am back in my comfortable world where the supernatural are the monsters and not a bunch of megalomaniac humans

I like tales of Vampires, Werewolves and Demon hunters so this will sit happily with my other books. It’s a fast flowing easy to read book. I like the characters; for most part they are well rounded, the secondary people could maybe do with being fleshed out a little more. There’s so little on the surface about Simon I constantly expected him to be bumped off. My other issue is the back stories when they came were a bit overlong and wordy but on the other hand they do their job of explaining the past. I’d actually quite like a story about the past events when the main adult characters were all younger and the infamous Uprising. Maybe it’s covered in one of the books I’ve yet to read?

I like the fact that the obligatory love story goes off on a completely different tangent (trying to avoid spoilers!) and I’m keen to see what happens next; a big twist or new characters to move that part along?

Something that’s made me chuckle is I kept getting a bit of a Star Wars vibe from it – just some characters reminded me of SW characters but reading the reviews apparently the author has links to Harry Potter fan-fiction so where I’m seeing Luke Skywalker these FF followers are seeing Draco Malfoy. So I got that one completely wrong!! I’ve never actually read any FF so I’m not gonna get drawn into some of the discussions I read about those works and this book except maybe that by reading it without all the FF baggage may have made it the more enjoyable as I’m not comparing it to anything

Overall I loved it, I loved the characters. It links in with my favourite genres and I can’t wait to try the next book in the series. For me highly recommended.

