Tags

, , , , , , ,

Synopsis: Do you rule the realm of disorganization, clutter, and chaos? Are you constantly battling to get things done? Are you ready to give up and toss your day planner into the dungeon (otherwise known as your closet)? If so, you might just be The Queen of Distraction. And whether or not you’ve been formally diagnosed with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), you probably already know that something’s got to give.  .
Me: Once upon a time someone suggested I may have ADHD. Discussions with my doctor resulted in me still not knowing as I decided against tests. What I do know is I have depression, anxiety and am often chaotic. One of the things I enjoyed most about this book was that while it is aimed at women with ADHD the support, advice and many tips are useful for any woman with a stressful life or mental health problem. In fact in this age where we are expected to have everything, do everything and be a superwoman all whilst looking like a supermodel on the catwalk it’s great to read a book that says it doesn’t matter if you don’t get everything done, if one day you decide to say ‘sod it’ and just feed the kids fish finger sandwiches for tea instead of some culinary masterpiece.

I’ve done some reading up in ADHD in general and where this book differs is by being solely about women – why in some cases they have hypersensitivity to fabrics, why not every woman is addicted to going to the mall and how to get by at work.

Not a reflection about Matlen’s book but I found it sad that in some cases she recommends non-disclosure and not discussing with employers. Maybe I’m naive in my thinking as I have an excellently understanding set of bosses but it saddens me in this day and age that not every employer is supportive.

Like many self help books written by Americans all the links are for America only so you may have to look up your own disability discrimination legislation to see where you stand in terms of employment support and again for education. There’s a slight obsession with plugging her own website although at the end does also supply some further reading and links to follow.

It’s an accessible book, not heavy on jargon and quite easy to read. It helps that Matlen herself has ADHD so understands the audience she’s writing for. Highly recommended and a must read for any woman with ADHD, stress & anxiety suffers or friends of sufferers.

