Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas can remember is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade, an encampment at the centre of a bizarre maze.
Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there, or what’s happening to the world outside. All they know is that every morning when the walls slide back, they will risk everything to find out.

Review: I really enjoyed this book. I think it may be my favourite of all the young adult dystopian novels I’ve read so far. I debated with myself for a while as to why. The Hunger Games Series has to me, the more horrid premise of teenagers killing each other to keep down the threat of rebellion yet The Maze Runner with less death keeps the reasons for being in the maze vague and creates more of a grittier feel. It comes across as more brutal.

I always love a book with short chapters. To me when you say ‘Just one more chapter’ with short chapters that usually ends up being half a book and with each of these chapters ending with little cliff hangers you really do just have to keep going. After a number of duds recently it was nice to find a book I couldn’t put down.

There are a number of plot holes, it’s true. The description of how many lads are in the Glades doesn’t fit with the descriptions of the way they are brought there (one every month over a period of 2 years) but it doesn’t really affect the overall story. I’m also wondering about the point of Teresa. Apart from being able to speak telepathically to Thomas she doesn’t really do much or add that much to the plot. Maybe she will have more to do in future books?

I liked the story, loved the feel of it, and can’t wait to see the film to see of the Grievers match on-screen how I saw them in my mind. A high recommendation

