Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I admit I bought this book in a charity shop purely because of its title. I don’t normally read chick-lit but how could I pass up the opportunity for a tale about Colin Firth?? Except as you can imagine he’s not actually in it. The story centres on three women in the small town of Boothbay Harbor, Maine: Veronica Russo who loves to bake and is trying to come to terms with giving her daughter up for adoption 22 years ago, Bea Crane, finding out she’s adopted and Gemma Hendricks, a journalist in town to report on the 50th anniversary of the teen pregnancy home on the outskirts of town. The women come together with a joint love of Colin Firth who is due in town to make a new movie.

In the end I really enjoyed this story. I like the idea of the central premise being about the pain of adoption and teenage pregnancy. I liked how March avoided coming down on any side of the debate on what’s best for baby; staying with mother or being adopted and how she explored all options within the realms of the three women all searching for answers to their individual issues.

Some of the plotlines you could see coming a mile away with Bea’s attempts to date – good guy turns out to be bad and grumpy guy is actually the sweetheart we should have been rooting for all along. Certain elements of Pride & Prejudice such as the above have been updated for this story and as a lover of P&P I have no problems with that at all.

In the end I found it to be a fun, summer read. One for the beach or garden. It’s an easy page turner and probably worth keeping for another read sometime soon.

