Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bridget Jones isn’t supposed to make you cry. I’m not sure whether it’s the loss of such a well loved character in Mark Darcy or the fact that I was reading it a few months after the deaths of two of my own family members and the subject is still a bit raw but every time Bridget starts to remember Darcy or thinks about her kids growing up without a father there the tears go! I found myself crying on the bus, in Costa Coffee and on one rather embarrassing occasion while waiting in a queue to start a guided tour of the Galleries of Justice in Nottingham.

I wasn’t sure about whether I would read this book knowing one of the main characters isn’t going to be in it and I’m a little confused about her age as I was sure she was the same age as me before and now she’s 10 years older but in the end I had the book read in two days (including the coach trip to Nottingham). At first I thought we had a change of writing style as Bridget talks of her new toyboy  but then as she recalls how she met him and events leading up to current day we return to the Bridget we know and love – calorie counting, alcohol units and a new addiction to grated cheese. Bridget traverses life for the modern single women of a certain age – what to do about dating, how low in age should they go? How do you actually meet people in this social media obsessed world – I recognised some famous dating sites but is there really one for dance lovers??? Not to mention society of all ages obsession with Facebook and Twitter, how many friends and followers we have and what makes for acceptable online flirting.

Our Bridge still loves her self help books, using them to work out how to live a modern life and coming up with her dating rules. But at the heart of it all is her love for her children and her desperation to be seen as a good mother against the sea of middle class, strange baby naming contemporaries. Being a mother, despite her having a nanny, Bridget turns out to be the same as the rest of us just struggling through the day.

There’s a happy ending, romantic stories always do and you can see the ending from the minute certain characters are introduced but the route we follow to get there is as enjoyable as the previous books in the trilogy. If you can get past the idea of our beloved Darcy not being around then this is definitely worth a read.

