Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I really wanted to like this book. I’ve been to a few of the Silence workshop run in his name and seen a few of his talks (on DVD not live) and liked what he had to say so I was looking forward to reading this book. But I just didn’t understand it in the end. I had two days til I have to speak about it on our radio show and am still only just over half way through after trying all month to get going and I don;t think I will finish it.I don’t think I’ve been so disappointed in a book in years.

I think the main problem is for me it doesn’t seem to have been written for the ordinary person. I’ve read quite a few self help books and I can see it’s along the same lines but it’s just so dry. There’s not been one bit of humour at all. It feels like reading an academic journal. 

And there are a lot of things that don’t make sense. For example there are many pages about the state of Being for you only to be told that it’s not important, stop worrying about it & don’t think about it any more. If that’s the case then why spend so much time explaining about it in the firs place? 

There are some good points – the idea of living in the Now and not worrying about the things that have already happened or may never happen makes a lot of sense. I have tried practicing letting go and only concentrating on what is happening right at that precise minute. For some reason it’s always been on the bus! But he is right, it’s impossible to be miserable when you do it. I’m sat on the bus, it’s moving and nothing on that journey is making me miserable or sad. 

I think for me I need a little bit more humour and a lot less textbook in my self help books. Something that feels like it was actually written for the people it’s aimed at rather than impressing other self help guru’s. Oh well, onto the next book….

