Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taken from my spirituality and happiness blog It’s all about the yes

It's all about the Yes

In preparation for my next Open University course I have 9 books to read over the summer. I’ve also been trying to find film and TV adaptations for the books on my reading list if possible. I thought it would be fun to review each one as I go along.

The first book I’ve managed to read and see the film of is Dancing at Lugnasa by Brian Friel. It’s a play set in Co Donegal, Southern Ireland in the 1930’s in which the narrator, Michael, recalls his time living with his mum and 4 aunts when he was seven.

I saw the film before I had chance to read the book. The first thing that struck me is that depsite a wealth or Irish actors half the female leads and the character of their brother Uncle Jack are all played by non-Irish people. I appreciate that Meryl Streep is…

View original post 314 more words

